Please enable JavaScript for best viewing experience

Assemblies of God Core Doctrines

The Bible is the Inspired Word of God

The Bible is the only written revelation from God to man. The Bible is infallible and is the rule of mankind's faith and conduct.

The Fall of Man

Man was created in the image of God. When Adam and Eve voluntarily disobeyed God in the Garden of Eden, they marked the start of the Fall of Man. This resulted in them being banished from the Garden, a curse on humanity, the process of physical death, and man dying spiritually. Sin separated man from God, and left man in a fallen, sinful condition.

There is One True God

God has many names as there many dimensions of his personality, but God is one. God is eternal; he has always existed. God is omnipotent, omnipresent, and omniscient, and he is the creator of the heavens and the earth. Though God is one, he has revealed himself in three persons: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

The Salvation of Man

Salvation is possible only through Jesus Christ. He died on thecross to pay for our sins. He wants us to be freed of our sins and wants us to become children of God.When we put our faith in Christ, we become the Temple of the Holy Spirit. Our names are written in the Lamb's Book of Life. We become citizens of heaven. We are given eternal life. We are adopted and become children of God. Our sins are forgiven and forgotten. We are credited with the righteousness of Christ. We are born again. God takes ownership of us. We receive an eternal inheritance. The evidence of salvation is two-fold. The internal evidence is the direct witness of the Holy Spirit. The external evidence is the fruit of the Spirit. We become a new creation and are transformed into the image of Christ.

The Church and its Mission

The Church is the body of Christ and has a three-fold purpose: to evangelize the world, to worship God and to equip for ministry.

The Holy Spirit

The nine fruits of the Spirit are the by-product of a Spirit-filled life and evidence of spiritual maturity. The nine gifts of the Spirit are different manifestations of the Spirit to build up the body. We are instructed to diligently seek the gifts, but they must be exercised in an orderly way in the context of love.

The Final Judgment

There will be a final judgment in which the dead will be resurrected and judged according to their works. Everyone whose name is not found written in the Book of Life, along with the Devil and his angels, will be consigned to everlasting punishment in the lake of fire. Those whose names are written in the Book of Life will be resurrected and stand at the judgment seat of Christ to be rewarded for their good deeds.